Ponce Banner
 

Administrative Core 

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Jaime Matta, PhD Contact Principal Investigator PHSU 787.259.7025 jmatta@psm.edu
Kenneth L. Wright, PhD Contact Principal Investigator MCC 813.745.3918 Ken.Wright@moffitt.org
Julie Dutil, PhD Principal Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2218 jdutil@psm.edu
Alvaro Monteiro, PhD Principal Investigator MCC 813.745.6321 Alvaro.Monteiro@moffitt.org
W. Douglas Cress, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.6703 Douglas.Cress@moffitt.org
Harold Saavedra, PhD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2205 hsaavedra@psm.edu
Hannia Delgado Program Manager PHSU 787.259.7018 hdelgado@psm.edu
Sabrina M. Rodríguez Program Manager MCC 813.745.6565 Sabrina.Rodriguez@moffitt.org
Lyshia Correa Program Coordinator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2205 lcorrea@psm.edu
Arline Vela Vidal Program Coordinator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2567 avela@psm.edu

 

Planning & Evaluation Core

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Clement Gwede, PhD, MPH, RN Co-Leader MCC 813.745.3052 Clement.Gwede@moffitt.org
Jaime Matta, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.259.7025 jmatta@psm.edu
Kenneth L. Wright, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.3918 Ken.Wright@moffitt.org
James Porter, PhD Chair, Internal Advisory Committee PHSU 787.840.2575 x2251 jporter@psm.edu
Vani Nath Simmons, PhD Chair, Internal Advisory Committee MCC 813.745.4816 Vani.Simmons@moffitt.org
Brian Czerniecki, MD Member, Internal Advisory Committee MCC 813.745.7569 Brian.Czerniecki@moffitt.org
Laura Domenech, MD Member, Internal Advisory Committee PHSU 787.840.2575 x4740 ldomenech@psm.edu
Martin Hill, PhD Member, Internal Advisory Committee PHSU 787.840.2575 x2199 mhill@psdm.edu
Conor Lynch, PhD Member, Internal Advisory Committee MCC 813.745.8094 Conor.Lynch@moffitt.org
Hannia Delgado Program Manager PHSU 787.259.7018 hdelgado@psm.edu
Sabrina M. Rodríguez Program Manager MCC 813.745.6565 Sabrina.Rodriguez@moffitt.org
Melissa Marzán, PhD Evaluation Manager  PHSU 787.840.2575 x5967 mmarzan@psm.edu
Jessica McIntyre Evaluation Manager MCC 813.745.6102 Jessica.McIntyre@moffitt.org
Yairí Rivera-Torgerson Program Coordinator MCC 813.745.2682 Yairi.Rivera-Torgerson@moffitt.org
Gwendolyn Quinn, PhD  External Evaluator  External 646.501.6878 Gwendolyn.Quinn@nyulandone.org

 

Research Education Core

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Caroline Appleyard, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2165 cappleyard@psm.edu
W. Douglas Cress, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.6703 Douglas.Cress@moffitt.org
Kenneth L. Wright, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813745.3918 Ken.Wright@moffitt.org
Melissa Alsina, MD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.7202 Melissa.Alsina@moffitt.org
Julian Sanchez, MD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.5986 Julian.Sanchez@moffitt.org
Pedro Santiago, PhD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2208 psantiago@psm.edu
Susan Vadaparampil, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.1997 Susan.Vadaparampil@moffitt.org
Hector Vélez, MD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2591 hvelez@ad-vanceresearch.com
Lyshia Correa Program Coordinator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2205 lcorrea@psm.edu
Yairí Rivera-Torgerson Program Coordinator MCC 813.745.2682 Yairi.Rivera-Torgerson@moffitt.org

 

Outreach Core

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Julio Jimenez, MD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2291 jcjimenez@psm.edu
Susan Vadaparampil Co-Leader MCC 813.745.1997 Susan.Vadaparampil@moffitt.org
Eida Castro, PsyD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2616 ecastro@psm.edu
Shannon Christy, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.8840 Shannon.Christy@moffitt.org
Clement Gwede, PhD, MPH, RN Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.3052 Clement.Gwede@moffitt.org
Melissa Marzán, PhD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x5967 mmarzan@psm.edu
Mary Rodríguez, PsyD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2264 marodriguez@psm.edu
Lynette Ruiz, PhD Co-Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2236 lruiz@psm.edu
Jennifer Garcia Program Coordinator MCC 813.745.1052 Jennifer.D.Garcia@moffitt.org
Arline Vela Vidal Program Coordinator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2567 avela@psm.edu

Shared Resources ~ Puerto Rico BioBank

Name Role Institution Phone Email
W. Douglas Cress, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.6703 Douglas.Cress@moffitt.org
Idhaliz Flores, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2206 iflores@psm.edu
Sonia Abac, RN Research Nurse PHSU 787.840.2575 x4224 sabac@psm.edu
Dagmar Correa Laboratory Supervisor PHSU 787.840.2575 x4224 dcorrea@psm.edu
Edna Gordián Data Concierge MCC 813.745.6364 Edna.Gordian@moffitt.org
José A. Oliveras, MD Clinical Data Abstractor PHSU 787.840.2575 joliveras@psm.edu
Yairí Rivera-Torgerson Program Coordinator MCC 813.745.2682 Yairi.Rivera-Torgerson@moffitt.org
Zindie Rodríguez, MD Pathology Assistant PHSU 787.840.2575 x4224 zrodriguez@psm.edu
María Rojas, PharmD Data Concierge PHSU 787.840.2575 x4224 mrojas@psm.edu
Marilin Rosa, MD Pathologist MCC 813.745.2846 Marilin.Rosa@moffitt.org
Ozlen Saglam, MD Pathologist MCC 813.745.1014 Ozlen.Saglam@moffitt.org
Edward Seijo Staff Scientist MCC 813.745.4264 Edward.Seijo@moffitt.org

 

Shared Resources ~ Quantitative Sciences Core

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Julie Dutil, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2218 jdutil@psm.edu
Steven Eschrich, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.1303 Steven.Eschrich@moffitt.org
Martha Báez Program Coordinator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2214 mbaez@psm.edu
Rodrigo Carvajal Staff Scientist MCC 813.745.6439 Rodrigo.Carvajal@moffitt.org
Dung-Tsa Chen, PhD Biostatistician MCC 813.745.1327 Dung-Tsa.Chen@moffitt.org
Edna Gordián Data Concierge MCC 813.745.6364 Edna.Gordian@moffitt.org
José A. Oliveras, MD Clinical Data Abstractor PHSU 787.840.2575 joliveras@psm.edu
Yairí Rivera-Torgerson Program Coordinator MCC 813.745.2682 Yairi.Rivera-Torgerson@moffitt.org
Ronald Rodríguez Biostatistician PHSU 787.840.2575 RonaldRodriguez@psm.edu
María Rojas, PharmD Data Concierge PHSU 787.840.2575 x4224 mrojas@psm.edu
Steve Sutton, PhD Biostatistician MCC 813.745.6524 Steve.Sutton@moffitt.org
Jamie Teer, PhD Bioinformatician MCC 813.745.2650 Jamie.Teer@moffitt.org

 

Research Full Project 1 ~ MC1R variants in H/L populations in Florida and Puerto Rico

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Peter Kanetsky, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.2299 Peter.Kanetsky@moffitt.org
Brenda Soto, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2246 bsoto@psm.edu
Richard Roetzheim, MD Co-Investigator USF 813.974.2201 rroetzhe@health.usf.edu
Susan Vadaparampil, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.1997 Susan.Vadaparampil@moffitt.org

 

​Research Full Project 2 ~ Mitotic kinases drive EMT in breast cancer

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Srikumar Chellappan, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.6892 Srikumar.Chellappan@moffitt.org
Harold Saavedra, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2205 hsaavedra@psm.edu

 

Research Pilot Project ~ Adrenergic regulation of BRCA1 in ovarian cancer

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Guillermo Armaiz, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x3226 garmaiz@psm.edu
Alvaro Monteiro, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.6321 Alvaro.Monteiro@moffitt.org
Heather Jim, PhD Co-Investigator MCC 813.745.6369 Heather.Jim@moffitt.org

 

Developmental Research Project 1 ~ Discovery of potential immune-preventative targets for ovarian cancer

Name Role Institution Phone Email
José Conejo-Garcia, MD, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.8262 Jose.Conejo-Garcia@moffitt.org
Idhaliz Flores, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x2206 iflores@psm.edu

 

Developmental Research Project 2 ~ The genomic and epigenetic predictors of aggressive prostate cancer in Puerto Rican men

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Anders Berglund, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.6947 Anders.Berglund@moffitt.org
Jaime Matta, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.259.7025 jmatta@psm.edu
Jong Park, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.1703 Jong.Park@moffitt.org
Gilberto Ruiz Deyá, MD Co-Leader PHSU 787.284.3333 gruiz@psm.edu / gruizdeya@aol.com

 

Developmental Research Project 3 ~ Developing and Testing a Spanish-Language intervention to Reduce Cancer-Related Insomnia

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Brian González, PhD Co-Leader MCC 813.745.3219 Brian.Gonzalez@moffitt.org
Jennifer Morales-Cruz, PhD Co-Leader PHSU 787.840.2575 x5569 jmorales@psm.edu

 

Early Stage Investigators (ESI)/Post-doctoral Trainees

Name Role Institution Phone Email
Guillermo Armaiz, PhD ESI PHSU 787.840.2575 x3226 garmaiz@psm.edu
Estrella Carballido, MD ESI MCC 813.745.8459 Estrella.Carballido@moffitt.org
Claudia Colon, PhD Postdoctoral Trainee PHSU 787.840.2575 ccolon13@stu.psm.edu
Carlos Díaz Osterman, PhD ESI PHSU 787.840.2575 x2210 cjdiaz@psm.edu
Brian González, PhD ESI MCC 813.745.3219 Brian.Gonzalez@moffitt.org
Jennifer Morales-Cruz, PhD ESI PHSU 787.840.2575 x5569 jmorales@psm.edu
Lauren Peres, PhD ESI MCC 813.745.4971 Lauren.Peres@moffitt.org
Jaileene Pérez-Morales, PhD Pre-doc/Post-doctoral Fellow PHSU 813.745.5917 Jaileene.PerezMorales@moffitt.org
Alixida Ramos, PhD ESI PHSU 787.840.2575 x5505 aramos@psm.edu
Lynette Ruiz, PhD New Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2236 lruiz@psm.edu
Brenda Soto, PhD New Investigator PHSU 787.840.2575 x2246 bsoto@psm.edu