Ponce Banner
 

Ponce Health Sciences University

Administrative Core

Name Role Phone Email

Jaime Matta, PhD

Contact Principal Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2190

jmatta@psm.edu

Julie Dutil, PhD

Co-Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2218

jdutil@psm.edu

Idhaliz Flores, PhD

Co-Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2206

iflores@psm.edu

Hannia Delgado, BSS

Program Manager

787.840.2575 x 2191

hdelgado@psm.edu

 

Planning & Evaluation Core

Name Role Phone Email

Jaime Matta, PhD

Contact Principal Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2190

jmatta@psm.edu

Ivan Iriarte, MD

Chair, Internal Advisory Committee

787.840.2575 x 5699

 iiriarte@psm.edu

Vanessa Rivera Amill, PhD

Member, Internal Advisory Committee

787.840.2575 x 2175

 vrivera@psm.edu

James T. Porter, PhD

Member, Internal Advisory Committee

787.840.2575 x 5651/2251

 jporter@psm.edu

Julie Dutil, PhD

Co-Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2218

jdutil@psm.edu

Mary Rodriguez, PsyD

Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2264

marodriguez@psm.edu  

Lyshia Correa Arroyo, BA

Program Coordinator

 787.840.2575 x 2205

lcorrea@psm.edu

Hannia Delgado, BSS

Program Manager

787.840.2575 x 2191

hdelgado@psm.edu

 

Research Education Core

Name Role Phone Email

Caroline Appleyard, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2165

cappleyard@psm.edu

Pedro Santiago, PhD

Co-Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2208

psantiago@psm.edu

Hector Vélez, MD

Investigator

787.840.2505 x 2591

hvelez@psm.edu

Lyshia Correa Arroyo, BA

Program Coordinator

787.840.2575 x 2205

lcorrea@psm.edu

 

Outreach Core

Name Role Phone Email

Julio Jiménez, MD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2291

jcjimenez@psm.edu

Eida Castro, PsyD

Co-Investigator

787.840.2575 x 2616

ecastro@psm.edu

Cynthia Cortes, LCSW

Program Coordinator

787.840.2575 x 2566

ccortes@psm.edu

Jomar Lopez, BA, CCHW 

Community Health Educator

813.745.1988

jomar.lopez@moffitt.org

Roxana Maldonado, MPH

Research Assistant

787.840.2575 x 2567

romaldonado@psm.edu

 

Puerto Rico Biobank (PRBB)

Name Role Phone Email

Idhaliz Flores, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2206

iflores@psm.edu

Maria Rojas, MD

Data Concierge

787.840.2575 x 4224

mrojas@psm.edu

Sonia Abac, RN

Research Nurse

787.840.2575 x 4224

sabac@psm.edu

Dagmar Correa, MT, MS

Lab. Technician/Program Coordinator

787.840.2575 x 4224

dcorrea@psm.edu

 

Quantitative Sciences Core

Name Role Phone Email

Julie Dutil, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2218

jdutil@psm.edu

Maria Rojas, MD

Data Concierge

787.840.2575 x 4224

mrojas@psm.edu

Marta Baez, BSS

Program Coordinator

787.840.2575 x 2214

mbaez@psm.edu

 

Pilot Research Project ~ Adrenergic modulation of ovarian cancer progression and chemoresistance

Name Role Phone Email

Guillermo Armaiz, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 3226

garmaiz@psm.edu

Lizette Maldonado

Laboratory Technician

787.840.2575 x 2540

limaldonado@psm.edu

 

Full Research Project 1 ~ Using MC1R genotype to impact skin cancer risk behaviors in Hispanics/Latinos

Name Role Phone Email

Brenda Soto, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2246

bsoto@psm.edu

 

Full Research Project 2 ~ Understanding how mitotic kinases drive EMT in breast cancers

Name Role Phone Email

Harold Saavedra, PhD

Co-Leader

787.840.2575 x 2205

hsaavedra@psm.edu

Yainyrette Rivera, PhD

Post-Doctoral Res. Associate

787.840.2575 x 2640

yarivera@psm.edu